OXFORD - Several Northeast Mississippi students were among the 70 students awarded the Marcus Elvis Taylor Memorial Medal by the University of Mississippi at UM’s 74th annual Honors Day Convocation on April 6. 

The award is the highest academic honor given by the university. 

The Taylor Medals were established at UM in 1904 by William A. Taylor of Booneville in memory of his son, an honored 1871 alumnus of the university. The award recognizes no more than 1 percent of the student body each year.

Area recipients include: Lauren Elizabeth Stantz from Chickasaw County; Megan Leigh Garner, Hannah Faith Hurdle and Matthew Philip Forgette from Lafayette County; Sherry Ann Barnes, Alaina Grace Newby, Breanna Leigh Long, Amy Joette Swan and Hannah Claire Farmer from Lee County. 

Recommended for you

comments powered by Disqus