OKOLONA • A two week session of Chickasaw County Circuit Court got under way in Okolona this week, court officials said. Court is being held July 19-30.

The next session of Circuit Court in Okolona will be held Oct. 4-8.

Court results from both court sessions will be printed in forthcoming issues of the Chickasaw Journal.

Chickasaw County is in the Third Judicial District.

Mississippi’s Circuit Courts hear felony criminal prosecutions and civil lawsuits. Circuit Courts hear appeals from County, Justice and Municipal courts and from administrative boards and commissions such as the Workers’ Compensation Commission and the Mississippi Department of Employment Security.

Circuit Court judges are selected in non-partisan elections to serve four-year terms. Trials are heard with a 12-member jury and two alternate jurors. A judge may preside without a jury if the dispute is a question of law rather than fact.

In addition to Chickasaw County, the Third Circuit Judicial District Court serves Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Lafayette, Marshall, Tippah and Union counties.

Three Circuit Court judges serve the district: Gray Tollison of Oxford, Kelly Luther of Ripley, and Kent Smith of Holly Springs.

Recommended for you

comments powered by Disqus