Felicia Gavin-hs_rgb

Felicia Gavin

Felicia D. Gavin, executive vice-president and general manager for Diamondjacks Casino & Hotel in Vicksburg, was named Mississippi’s Business Woman of the Year for 2016 Thursday by the Mississippi Business Journal.

Gavin was joined by 10 finalists and 39 other honorees at an event at the Old Capitol Inn in Downtown Jackson.

For Gavin, a good leader should also be a great person. In her role as executive vice-president and general manager for Diamondjacks Casino & Hotel in Vicksburg, Gavin likes to practice what she preaches. She manages 25 departments consisting of more than 350 team members and an annual budget of $50 million. Additionally, Gavin serves as regional vice-president of finance and is responsible for the overall financial reporting of the casino. A Bastrop, Louisiana native, Gavin received her doctorate from Jackson State University and an MBA from Mississippi College. Prior to joining Diamondjacks, she served the Office of the Governor as Director of Administration and Fiscal Policy. Gavin is an active member of the Anderson United Methodist Church and serves as a board member for the Pigs In Flight Children’s Museum. Married with one daughter, Gavin enjoys reading, shopping and cooking on the grill in her spare time.

The Top 10 are as follows (alphabetically) …

» Jocelyn Chisolm Carter — United Healthcare Community Plan of Mississippi

» Marisa S. Davidson — Mississippi Health Partners

» Kathy W. Freeman — Butler Snow

» Donna M. Gardner — Camelia Healthcare

» Kristi Henderson — University of Mississippi Medical Center

» Jamie Higdon — Tempstaff

» Misti Munroe Preziosi — Office of the State Treasurer of Mississippi

» Charlotte Harness Seals — Madison County Schools/President of Junior League

» Amy W. Smith — Ross & Yerger

» Pamela P. Ware — Metropolitan Bank

These were also named Top 50 Businesswomen by the Mississippi Business Journal.

Lolly Barnes

Karen Chain

Lisa Cochran

Pamela Confer

Amanda Rasberry Crawford

Vanda N. Crowe

Liz Hogue Densmore

Tahya Dobbs

Lindsay Thomas Dowdle

Patty Dunn

Macey Lynd Edmondson

Stephanie Edwards

Alison Ketner Goodman

Jennifer G. Hall

Leigh G. Jaunsen

Kimberla M. Little

Bridget M. Lowery

Macie Malone

Lori Hill Marshall

Amelia McGowan

Gaylene M. McHale

Kelly McQuaig

Jan Miller

Melanie S. North

Kathleen Shields O’Beirne

Weatherly Rose

Ryanne Duffie Saucier

Camille Allen Snyder

Mandi Stanley, CSP

Susan K. Steadman

T. McCall Stern

Addie L. Johnson-Stover

Amanda D. Villeret

Stephanie Sago Vivians

Christie D. Walters

Carol Warren

La’Keylah White

Sarah Beth Wilson

Jaklyn Wrigley

» Read more about all the honorees in next week’s Mississippi Business Journal.

Recommended for you

comments powered by Disqus