Jimmy Edwards

Sheriff Jimmy Edwards

With only a few hundred votes separating the two candidates for Union County Sheriff, Incumbent Jimmy Edwards defeated Ashley Kidd in Tuesday's general election.

Edwards (D) received 4,478 votes in the unofficial total released Tuesday evening around 9 p.m., or 52.49 percent of the vote, while Kidd (R) received 4,044 or 47.40 percent of the vote.

Three of the five supervisors races were also contested on Tuesday.

In District One, Sam Taylor (D) defeated Jerry C. Burke to take the seat. Taylor received 866 votes or 55.87 percent, while Burke received 683 or 44.06 percent.

Incumbents Chad Coffey and Randy Owen easily won their races for District Two and District Four respectively. Coffey (D) received 1,424 votes or 74.17 percent while his challenger, Jim Gann (R) received 496 votes, or 25.83 percent. Meanwhile Owen (D) received 1,015 votes or 65.48 percent, while Junior Courtney (R) received 535 votes or 34.52 percent.

The only other locally contested race was for Constable East Post. Incumbent P.J. Doyle (R) received 3,001 votes or 78.09 percent, while challenger Mickey McGill received only 842 votes, or 21.91 percent.

Kathy L. Chism (R) became the new state senator for District 3 Tuesday, defeating Tim Tucker (D). Chism received 6,859 votes or 81.49 percent, while Tucker received 1,555 votes or 18.47 percent.

House of Representatives District 13 Incumbent Steve Massengill (R) won Tuesday as well, receiving 771 votes or 70.15 percent. His opponent, Pamela J. Denham (D) received 327 votes or 29.75 percent.

Nine Union County Incumbents will reclaim their offices for another four years, as they were unopposed in Tuesday's election. They include Circuit Clerk Phyllis Stanford, Chancery Clerk Annette Hickey, Tax Assessor-Collector Tameri Dunnam, Union County Attorney Joe Marshall Davis, Fifth District Supervisor Steve Watson, East Post Justice Court Judge David Garrison, West Post Justice Court Judge Chris Childers, West Post Constable Ronnie Goudy and District 18 Representative Jerry Turner.

Sam J. Creekmore IV (R) also becomes the new Representative for District 14, as he had no challengers in the general election.

Voter turnout in Union County was high Tuesday, with 8,595 or 53.68 percent of the 16,012 electorate going to the polls to cast ballots. In addition, the county received 549 absentees and 46 affidavits, but have not been factored into the totals above.

Recommended for you

comments powered by Disqus