Absentee voters continue to cast their ballots in the special election for the First Congressional District House of Representatives, Union County Circuit Clerk Phyllis Stanford said Wednesday.

Thirteen candidates have qualified for the race, seeking the office left vacant by the death of Alan Nunnelee Feb. 6 from cancer.

Qualified voters can cast ballots in Stanford’s office between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, or can obtain ballots to be mailed in later.

Stanford’s office also will be open from 8 a.m. to noon Saturday, May 2, and the following week, May 9 for absentee voters. May 9 is the deadline for in-person absentee voting and mailed ballots must arrive by 5 p.m. the following Monday, May 11, the day before the election.

The election will be May 12, only a little more than a month away. If no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the total vote, those with the two largest vote totals will compete in a run-off June 2. The winner will serve the remaining year and a half of Nunnelee’s term.

Because this is a special election and not a political-party-held vote, candidates will be considered non-partisan; no party affiliations will be listed on ballots.

Here is how the names will appear on the ballot:


For US House of Rep 01

1st Congressional District

Vote for One


Boyce Adams

Sam Adcock

Nancy Adams Collins

Edward Troy Holliday

Starner Jones

Trent Kelly

Michael F. “Chip” Mills, Jr.

Greg Pirkle

Henry Ross

Daniel Sparks

Mike Tagert

Quentin Whitwell

Walter Howard Zinn, Jr.


Recommended for you

comments powered by Disqus