Wayne Averett and Jim Brown of Modern Woodmen Fraternal Financial in Tupelo have been awarded the Chairman’s Council award and the Quality Award by the National Association of Fraternal Insurance Counselors.

The NAFIC is a professional insurance association with over 2,500 members in the United States and Canada.

The Chairman’s Council is NAFIC’s highest award, given only to those agents who have excelled at the very highest level of service to their society. The Quality Service Award is given to those who maintain the highest level of service for their clients..

Terry Miller was named North Mississippi Medical Clinics October Employee of the Month.

Miller is a nurse practitioner at West Tupelo Medical Clinic, where he has worked since October 2016. He joined North Mississippi Medical Center in 1984 as a respiratory therapist, and has also worked at Barnes Crossing Medical Clinic. He also serves as an exercise instructor at the NMMC Wellness Center.

Miller attended Delta State University, where he received his master’s degree in nursing. He completed his doctorate in nursing at the University of North Alabama.

The Employee of the Month honor recognizes employees with exemplary job performance and customer service skills, as well as community involvement.

Dave Green recently was named vice president of Priority One Mortgage for Priority One Bank.

Green, who graduated from Corinth High School attended the University of Southern Miss and Union University. He has 24 years of mortgage and banking experience.

PriorityOne Mortgage is a division of PriorityOne Bank that was founded in 1999 when Sam Whitehead’s company, The Mortgage Center, was acquired by PriorityOne Bank.

PriorityOne Bank, based in Magee, operates 14 offices in 11 Mississippi communities: Collins, Seminary, Hattiesburg, Magee, Mendenhall, Richland, Brandon, Ridgeland, Pearl, Pelahatchie, and Morton. The bank has assets of approximately $600 million in assets.

Denise Fava was named North Mississippi Medical Clinics November Employee of the Month.

Fava is a nurse practitioner at Barnes Crossing Medical Clinic, where she has worked since May 2014. She previously worked as a registered nurse in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at the North Mississippi Medical Center Women’s Hospital.

She is a graduate of Pontotoc High School and received her bachelor’s degree in nursing from the University of Mississippi. She received her master’s degree in nursing and nurse practitioner training at the University of Mississippi Medical Center.


Carleigh Ballard of the Mother-Baby Unit at Women’s Hospital recently received North Mississippi Medical Center’s DAISY Award for October.

She received a certificate, a DAISY Award pin, a bouquet donated by Bishop’s Flower Shop and a hand-carved stone sculpture titled A Healer’s Touch.

Ballard earned an associate degree in nursing from Itawamba Community College in May 2015 and a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Mississippi University for Women in August 2016. She joined the NMMC staff in June 2015 and worked on 6 South for one year before transferring to her current position.

Ballard was nominated by a patient who was moved to her unit following an emergency Cesarean-section delivery.

The DAISY Award is an international program that rewards and celebrates the extraordinary compassionate and skillful care given by nurses every day. Nomination forms are available throughout NMMC or atwww.nmhs.net/daisy_award.php.


John M. Turner Jr was recently named President of Regions Bank and Regions Financial Corp., its bank holding company. Turner, 56, is a senior executive vice president, a member of the bank’s executive council, and head of Regions’ Corporate Banking Group.

He is also responsible for corporate strategic planning and will remain head of the Corporate Banking Group. He joined Regions in 2011.

Grayson Hall, 60, was named President of Regions in 2009 and remains Chairman and Chief Executive Officer. Hall became Chief Executive Officer in 2010 and in 2013 was elected Chairman of the Board of Directors.


Kelly McCreight, CEO of Hamilton-Ryker, has been named Chairman of the Board for the American Staffing Association.

In 1971, his father founded a light industrial staffing firm that later became Hamilton-Ryker. McCreight began working for Hamilton-Ryker nearly 25 years ago. Since then, Kelly has worked from the ground up to become CEO. In 2013 McCreight was appointed to the ASA board of directors and in October 2017 elected chairman of the board.


Several area residents have been named as members of the Itawamba Community College District Workforce Council for 2017-18

They include Terri Manning, human resources assistant manager, and Ben Jones, project manager, both for Auto Parts Manufacturing Mississippi, Guntown; Rory Sneed, manager – compound, plasticizer and human resources for Axiall Corporation, Aberdeen; David Rumbarger, president and CEO, and Gina Black, project manager, both for the Community Development Foundation, Tupelo; Johnny Tucker, industrial engineering manager, and Greg Hinton, facility human resource manager, both for Cooper Tire and Rubber Company, Tupelo; Lewis Whitfield, senior vice president of CREATE Foundation, Tupelo; Kevin Payne, executive vice president of F.L. Crane & Sons,Inc., Fulton; Kevin Faulkner, vice president of manufacturing and quality, and Scott Shempert, human resource manager, both for Franklin Furniture Corporation, Houston; Dave Stanley, plant manager of Grammer, Inc., Shannon; Bryan Hawkins, president/CEO of Hawkeye Industries Inc., Tupelo; Jon Stembridge, human resource/safety manager of HomeStretch Furniture, Nettleton; Jon Bramlett, corporate human resources manager of JESCO Inc., Tupelo; Dave Quigley, general manager of Martinrea Automotive Structures Inc., Shannon; Chelsea Baulch, executive director of the Monroe County Chamber of Commerce, Amory; Glenn Gann, human resource manager of MPI/Leggett & Platt, Houston; Tab Cherry, human resource manager for MTD Products, Verona; Travis Fisher, director of human resource and safety and projects for Mueller Industries, Fulton; Brian Harwood, general manager of Norbord Mississippi, LLC, Guntown; Elizabeth Frick, director of education, and Carla Enis, director of recruitment and retention, both for the North Mississippi Medical Center, Tupelo; Dennis Seid, business editor for the Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal, Tupelo; Lynn Nelson, human resource manager for Pontotoc Spring, Pontotoc; Danny McClellan, vice president of operations, and Joe Vance, director of human resources, both for Sothern Motion, Pontotoc; Mary Lemons, human resource manager for Syntron Material Handling, Saltillo; Tommy Roberts, director, North American human resources for Tecumseh Products Company Inc., Tupelo; Vernon R. Kelley III, executive director, and Bill Renick, WIOA division director, both for Three Rivers Planning and Development District, Pontotoc; Dewayne Thornton, owner/president of Tombigbee Tooling Inc., Mantachie; Stanley Brewer, human resource manager, for Toyota Boshoku Mississippi LLC, Mantachie; Sean Suggs, vice president, and Bethanie Humphries, training and development specialist, both for Toyota Mississippi, Blue Springs; Patrick Lockett, site education leader, and Penelope Blissett, human resource generalist, both for Tronox Inc., Hamilton; Charles Russell, president of Trustmark Bank, Tupelo; James Hall, general manager of TSUSHO – Blue Springs Metal, Blue Springs; and honorary member Harry A. Martin, president emeritus of the Community Development Foundation, Tupelo.

The members provide counsel and direction for ICC’s workforce development programs.

Recommended for you

Load comments