OXFORD • The University of Mississippi is one step closer to hiring a new chancellor to lead the flagship university with the state college board forming the Campus Search Advisory Committee, which will have input on who is selected as chancellor.

The Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning, the governing body for all public universities in the state, released an email to all Ole Miss students and faculty on Friday evening with the names of 39 committee representing different aspects of the wider university community.

People on the committee include Oxford Mayor Robyn Tannehill, Associated Student Body President Barron Mayfield, Faculty Senate Chair Brice Noonan, Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs Dr. LouAnn Woodward and Oxford real estate investor Blake Tartt.

IHL Board President Hal Parker previously named all IHL board members as members of the board's chancellor search committee, with Ford Dye serving as search committee chair.

The search for a new chancellor comes after former chancellor Jeffrey Vitter suddenly resigned from the university in 2018 before his contract was up for renewal, making him the shortest tenured chancellor since 1849.

Before Vitter, former chancellor Dan Jones’ contract was controversially not renewed in 2015. The next chancellor will be the third chancellor to head the university in four years.

The committee will meet on Friday, June 14 in the ballroom at The Inn in Oxford to discuss the search.

Recommended for you

comments powered by Disqus