Local Brief

Tupelo doles out football awards

The annual Tupelo High School football awards banquet was held Thursday, with the following players being honored.

Of the major awards, Wil Kline was named the Offensive Player of the Year; Howard Terrell was named the Defensive Player of the Year; Eddie Prather won the Ben Harris Golden Wave Award; Brandon Martin won the Scholastic Award; Nick Morris won the James "Booty" Sloan Award; and Reed Hillen won the Bill Leech Award.

Also being honored were Matt McCullough as MAC All-State in Class 5A and the Best Offensive Lineman; Gary Harris as the Most Improved Player; Greg Harris as the Most Valuable Defensive Lineman; Aaron Knowles with the Most Outstanding Receiver Award; Rhett Gore with the Best Linebacker Award; Dontay Smith with the Defensive Backs Award; Bo Baxter with the Best Offensive Backs Award; and Lowery Crews with the Hit Man Award.

After an 0-6 start, Tupelo finished the season at 4-8, advancing to the first round of the 5A playoffs.

Biggersville hoop games rescheduled

The Biggersville at Falkner basketball game originally scheduled for tonight has been postponed. The game has been rescheduled for Jan. 27th.

In a matchup involving area ranked teams in the Daily Journal poll, No. 5 Biggersville (7-1) is at No. 4 Corinth (5-1) Saturday. The game was originally the season-opener for both squads, but was postponed due to Corinth's football team participating in the state playoffs.


T-Rex downs Lake Charles, 4-2

LAKE CHARLES, La. - The Tupelo T-Rex defeated the Lake Charles Ice Pirates, 4-2, Thursday night.

The T-Rex took to an early lead in the first period on a Brian Stacey power play goal at 5:44. New Tupelo addition, Tom Stewart and Barry McKinlay assisted in the 1-0 T-Rex lead.

Following a Lake Charles score, the T-Rex came back with a score of its own at the end of the period on a Dave Szabo goal with Bobby Reed on the assist for the 2-1 lead.

Tupelo center Jason Firth put one past the Ice Pirates on the rebound at 1:35 of the second period as Brant Blackned was credited with the assist for the 3-1 Tupelo lead.

Again, Lake Charles answered with Scott Wray putting the puck past T-Rex netminder Roby Gropp at the 9:15 mark.

Tom Stewart turned the red light on for the T-Rex at 16:30 mark with Joe Van Volsen and Barry McKinlay assisting to take the lead, 4-2.

Tupelo's record improves to 15-12-1 while Lake Charles drops to 13-12-0.

The T-Rex returns home at 7 p.m. today against the Lubbock Cotton Kings.

College Football

Lucas named All-America first team

OXFORD - Ole Miss senior cornerback Ken Lucas of Cleveland, Miss, has been named to the Rivals.com 2000 College Football All-America first team.

The selection of Lucas, who is rated by ESPN football analyst Mel Kiper, Jr., as the nation's top senior defensive back prospect for next April's NFL Draft, marked the 38th time for an Ole Miss player to earn first team All-America honors.

Lucas was earlier selected second team All-America by Collegefootball-news.com and Gannett News Service, while being tabbed third team All-America by Football News. He has also picked up either first or second team All-Southeastern Conference honors from numerous all-star selection boards.

While starting all 11 games in 2000, Lucas set an Ole Miss single-season record with 25 passes defensed. He led the Rebels in interceptions with five, tying for third in the SEC and 19th nationally, and intercepted passes in three straight games.

Lucas was credited with 43 tackles during his senior campaign, including three tackles for losses of a minus 12 yards, and also forced one fumble. He registered a single game career-high 10 tackles against Auburn.

While Lucas was earning first team All-America honors, he was joined by several other Rebels receiving All-SEC recognition over the last two days.

Senior running back Deuce McAllister, and senior defensive lineman Derrick Burgess of Riverdale, Md., earned first team All-SEC honors from the Associated Press, with McAllister being selected as the all-purpose player.

Second team All-SEC picks for the Rebels by the Associated Press included junior offensive lineman Terrence Metcalf of Clarksdale, junior defensive back Syniker Taylor of Gulfport, and Lucas.

Metcalf and Lucas made the SEC Coaches All-SEC first team, while quarterback Romaro Miller of Shannon, McAllister, and Burgess made the second team.

Womack named to Walter Camp team

STARKVILLE - Mississippi State senior offensive lineman Pork Chop Womack was named second-team all-America by the Walter Camp Football Foundation, the organization announced Thursday. MSU senior cornerback Fred Smoot was named to the Walter Camp first team last week.

Womack, a 6-3, 346-pound senior from Cleveland , is the fourth Bulldog to earn all-American laurels this season. Both Pig Prather and Mario Haggan were named to the Sporting News' second team.

Womack helped the Bulldogs lead the Southeastern Conference in rushing, averaging 193.8 yards per game.

Womack joined four other SEC players on the second team. Florida placed offensive lineman Kenyatta Walker and defensive lineman Alex Brown, and Tennessee added place-kicker Alex Walls and defensive lineman John Henderson on the 22-man second team.

Major league baseball

Free Agent Cone to leave Yankees

NEW YORK - David Cone decided Thursday he didn't want to be the New York Yankees' fifth starter and turned down the chance to remain with the World Series champions.

Cone could have stayed for about $500,000 guaranteed and the chance to earn more in performance bonuses. Because the free-agent pitcher wasn't offered salary arbitration, he is ineligible to re-sign with the Yankees until May 1.

-from staff and wire reports

Recommended for you

comments powered by Disqus