JACKSON – Governor Tate Reeves extended his mask mandate that covers nearly the entire state for another three week.

Late Friday, Reeves extended Executive Order 1535 through Wednesday, Feb. 3 at 5 p.m. The order requires people to social distance, limit the size of gatherings and to wear masks or face coverings. The previous mandate, that was to expire Friday at 5 p.m., covered all but four of the state's counties.

The latest mandate removed five counties, so the order applies to 73 of Mississippi’s 82 counties.

"It is important that we continue to take this virus seriously," Reeves said. "We are working on getting Mississippians vaccinated, but continue to social distance, keep gatherings small and wear your mask."

The four counties not covered in Reeves' mandate are Adams, Claiborne, Isaqueena, Jefferson, Lawrence, Quitman, Sharkey, Tunica and Wilkinson counties.



Recommended for you

comments powered by Disqus