Mississippi takes step toward dropping rebel image from flag

Observers watch the House consider a number of bills Saturday morning, June 27, 2020 at the Capitol in Jackson, Miss. Mississippi lawmakers could vote to remove the Confederate battle emblem from the state flag. The symbol has come under criticism amid nationwide protests against racial injustice. (AP Photo/Rogelio V. Solis)

Both chambers of the Mississippi Legislature on Saturday voted to pass a resolution that would allow the lawmaking body to vote on a bill to change the state flag, which is the last flag in the nation that contains a Confederate battle flag.

To pass the resolution, the lawmakers had to agree to the resolution by a two-thirds majority vote. Now, the legislators can begin discussing and debating a bill to change the flag.

Here’s a list of how lawmakers from Northeast Mississippi voted on the resolution:

Mississippi House of Representatives:

Shane Aguirre (R-District 17): Yes

William Tracy Arnold (R-District 3): No

Nick Bain (R-District 2): Yes

Charles Jim Beckett (R-District 23): Yes

Donnie Bell (R-District 21): Yes

Randy Boyd (R-District 19): No

Chris Brown (R-District 20): No

Lester “Bubba” Carpenter (R-District 1): No

Gary Chism (R-District 37): Absent

Sam Creekmore IV (R-District 14): Yes

Clay Deweese (R-District 12): Yes

John Faulkner (D-District 5): Yes

Mac Huddleston (R-District 15): Yes

Trey Lamar (R-District 8): Yes

Johnathan Lancaster (D-District 22): Yes

Steve Massengill (R-District 13): Yes

Jody Steverson (R-District 4): Yes

Rickey Thompson (D-District 16): Yes

Jerry Turner (R-District 18): No

Mississippi Senate:

Nicole Boyd (R-District 9): Yes

Hob Bryan (D-District 7): Yes

Kathy Chism (R-District 3): No

Gary Jackson (R-District 15): Yes

Chad McMahan (R-District 6): Yes

Rita Potts Parks (R-District 4): Yes

Daniel Sparks (R-District 5): No

Benjamin Suber (R-District 8): No

Angela Turner-Ford (D-District 16): Yes

Neil Whaley: (R-District 10): No

Charles Younger (R-District 17): Yestaylor.vance@journalinc.com Twitter: @taylor_vance28


Twitter: @taylor_vance28

Recommended for you

comments powered by Disqus