Andy Kennedy, who guided the Ole Miss men to a share of the SEC West lead in his first season, was named the league’s coach of the year Tuesday by the Associated Press.

Clarence Sanders of Ole Miss and Jamont Gordon of Mississippi State were named second-team All-SEC players by the AP.

Tennessee guard Chris Lofton edged Derrick Byars of Vanderbilt for the AP’s player of the year award, while Arkansas freshman Patrick Beverley was named SEC newcomer of the year.

Get more details, and see the All-SEC first team, in Wednesday’s Daily Journal.

Recommended for you

comments powered by Disqus